28 Weeks and Counting...
"So, are you done with blogging?" asks my faithful (read "pesky") blog-conscience, a.k.a. Matt Elliott. The truth is I just haven't felt like blogging lately. Part of it has been the summertime heat, which is thankfully coming to an end. However, being fairly heavy with child at this point, one would think I would be waxing rhapsodic about all the impending joys of motherhood. Fact is, it's pretty darn hard work. Some days I think I have it figured out, but leave it to a 2 1/2 year old to knock you down a notch or two. Gabe and I have good days and bad days. Actually, I don't even try to measure our success in such large increments. I prefer to view it by smaller segments -- morning, afternoon, evening perhaps.
As I pummel ever closer to the birth of Thompson boy #2, I find that my emotions are even more mixed than they were before #1. This time I know what I'm in for in some respects -- the c-section, nursing, sleep deprivation, night sweats, etc. And further along, constantly adapting to the changing needs of an infant who is growing and developing at the speed of sound. However, this time I also have an older child who will still need my attention and care. I am beginning to doubt my ability to juggle the needs of these two little beings while maintaining my own sanity.
I'm also saddened by the fact that it won't be just Gabe and me anymore (during the day, that is). I know everyone wonders how it is possible to love a second child as much as the first, and apparently I am no exception. (I hate being so cliche!) At the same time, I'm really excited by the fact that I get a second chance to be a good mother to a newborn. You see, I had a pretty rough start with Gabe. It wasn't his fault. He was an incredibly easy baby -- slept through the night at 6 weeks, no colic, rarely sick, easygoing. The problems were all mine. First, I was pretty traumatized by the whole birth experience. I had never even considered the possibility that I might need a c-section, but after 30 hours of unproductive labor I was begging for one. Gabe was 4 hours old before I even got to touch him. I didn't change a diaper for the first two weeks at least. I didn't get to participate in his first bath at home. I couldn't even carry him for two or three weeks. Then I had complications from the surgery followed by an extreme flare-up of another chronic medical condition, which ultimately caused me to be unable to nurse. Bottom line, after a smooth pregnancy, the first two months of Gabe's life were shockingly painful and difficult. As a result, I didn't really bond with him until he was several months old, and it was longer than that before I really felt like a mother. Throw in hormonal changes and a whopping dose of guilt, and you can imagine that my memories of becoming a mother are less than idyllic.
So, all that is to say that I hope to do better this time. Knowing what I know now -- how much fun it will be to watch this new little guy grow and change -- my hope is that I will take to him right away. Then again, I'm terrified that he is going to be the most difficult baby in history. After all, I can't possibly have two easy babies, can I? Why didn't I start this whole process when I was younger????